'skine.art Twitter page RSS Amazon Wishlist 'skine.art Facebook page Moleskine Art Facebook group 'skine.art on Kindle
home | interviews | contributors | shop | faq
login or register to submit your art
MattiasBanner

My recent efforts using Moleskine Books

Home Forums General Discussion My recent efforts using Moleskine Books

Tagged: , ,

This topic contains 2 replies, has 2 voices, and was last updated by  Uncle Bob 5 years, 1 month ago.

Viewing 3 posts - 1 through 3 (of 3 total)
  • Author

Uncle Bob

Thanks to all who kindly posted comments or favourited my recent efforts. I’ve been using a Moleskine sketchbook for a few years but not in this way. May I explain! A couple of years ago I received a Moleskine as part of a Chrismas gift. Since I already had lots of sketchbooks I decided to try something different. I trawled the ‘net for a wide variety of poems and copied them into the book, leaving lots of space. Now, when I go out, I look for subject matter to match the poems and, if I find anything, try to complement the prose with sketches. I now have around fifty pieces with space for around thirty more. Examples are The Scott Monument in Edinburgh to match McGonagall’s poem describing the city, or a sketch of a sailing ship(obtained during a visit to Eyemouth Harbour) to sit beside John Masefield’s “Sea Fever”. It’s good fun and encourages the habit of sketching regularly. My ambition is to visit Dublin to sketch the statue of Patrick Kavenagh, near Baggot Street, to sit beside his “Raglan Road”. I suppose that, since joining this site, I will now have to carry two Moleskins, one for the poetry and one for other sketches.

March 1, 2009 at 7:23 pm #35653

Nicholas

I carry around three moleskines myself, one for notes, and two sketchbooks– one for pen and diagrams, and the other for watercolor. I wouldn’t hesitate to paste up anything there